About Us

Our Team

Our licence holder is Ngā Tangata Tiaki o Whanganui and together we are Te Reo Irirangi o Whanganui Incorporated trading as AwaFM. AwaFM is governed by a board of trustees who must whakapapa to Whanganui. Racquel McKenzie is our chairwoman. Her fellow board members are Makere Edwards, Leigh Marama McLachlan, Leah Te Whata and Nancy Tuaine.


Whetu Fala Ngā Rauru, is our current Station Manager and she leads a team of seven. Started in 1991 our studios are based in Te Taura Whiri building owned by our licence holder in uptown Whanganui. We broadcast 24/7 terrestially on 100FM Whanganui, 91FM Ohakune and Raetihi and 93.5FM in Taumarunui and globally online www. awafm.co.nz.

With Maori making up 23% of the total population of the Whanganui region 42,153* our median age is 24.7 years.* In 2018 Statistics NZ reported that just over 7% of all people in Whanganui region had spoken some te reo Māori in that year, in comparison to 4% nationwide.

2021 we look forward to celebrating thirty years of broadcasting te mita o Whanganui.

(Sources: Whanganui Ecdonomic snapshot, Statistics NZ 2017.)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s